supervised the whole social life of the settlement, imposing duties and restrictions on the sale and importation of liquors, superintending the building of roads, the issue of marriage licenses and the encouragement of native industries.

The series of Dominion Acts relating to the West begins with "An Act for the temporary government of Rupert's Land and the Northwestern Territory when united with Canada," June 22, 1869. This Act sought to prepare for the transfer of the Territories from the local authorities to the government of Canada. A year later the Manitoba Act (33 Vict., c. 3) launched upon its independent constitutional career the old District of Assiniboia, now in possession of complete self-government. The Lieutenant-Governor in the first days of the province naturally occupied a very important position in the administration of affairs. For a short time there was a temporary government with two ministers and the Legislative Assembly. After this, government was carried on with the Legislative Assembly and a Legislative Council, but without a premier. At the end of six years the Legislative Council was abolished. Without a Legislative Council but with a Premier and a Legislative Assembly the province assumed the constitutional form which has endured to the present day.

SASKATCHEWAN AND ALBERTA.

The landmarks in the growth of provincial institutions for Manitoba are the coming of the Selkirk colonists, the development of the Council of Assiniboia, the passing of the Hudson's Bay Company as a governmental body, the enactment of the Manitoba Act and the abolition of the Legislative Council. The chief stages in the political development of the Northwest Territories (that portion of Rupert's Land and the Northwestern Territory not included in the province of Manitoba) are indicated by the capitals, Fort Garry, Swan River, Battleford and Regina. When the Government was at Fort Garry the Territories were administered by officials resident in a neighbouring province. In Livingstone, Swan River, the Lieutenant-Governor and councillors belonged for the first time to the Territories exclus-Battleford marked the beginnings but only the beginnings of self-government. It was reserved to Regina to witness the evolution from the Northwest Council to the Legislative Assembly, from representative to responsible government, from territories to provinces.

The Territories were not at first given a separate government. They were administered from Fort Garry by the Lieutenant-Governor of Manitoba with the aid, first of a small executive council of three, irregularly appointed, the Hon. Mr. Justice Johnson, the Hon. D. A. Smith and the Hon. Pascal Breland, and then with the aid of a more formal and more regularly appointed but still admittedly provisional Northwest Council. This council addressed itself to the task of laying the foundations of territorial administration. It did much, also, to secure the goodwill of the Indian tribes.

The charter of the separate political existence of the Territories is the Northwest Territories Act, 1875. It was under this Act that the late Hon. David Laird was appointed Lieutenant-Governor. He